Just By Saying Yes to Me…

Today has been an adventure in saying yes to me. Starting with a perfectly executed surprise attack from KC…yep forgot the water bottle and she is so good at keeping me on my toes, and aware. Except for the stinging mark on my shin, I still had a wonderful shower, amazed at not being as tired as I had expected to be. After I had seemed to be up, on and off all night long after the awesome feeling of truly stepping out for me as a purposeful writer yesterday by stating so to the Universe at large. In so doing got incredibly inspired to write until I called it quits about 11ish last night.
Went to work in a interested in what life will bring me mood. Feeling the cold, especially in my hands, as the little bus took its time warming up. Spent the first half of the route, at each stop I came to. Trying to figure out what was first causing the alert to come on my phone, which then blocked my ability to play my stored music choices. When I finally did get the music to play, it was barely legible, so more fiddling, a few more buttons, a better understanding of my phone, and presto wonderful Abraham to relax, sift and sort through.
Dropped off the students at their various schools and as I headed back to the bus barn for the monthly mandatory meeting, I heard and felt the thought “You can have it all”. I paused, just letting those words wrap around me. This then caused several easy, powerful, visualizations of me succeeding at each of the current goals I am pursuing. Feeling balanced, warmed, and hungry, wandered into the meeting where there were the apples and banana’s I had missed and inquired about at our last month’s meeting. I was so jazzed, I had asked, felt how good they would taste, forgot about it, and bingo the Universe fulfilled my request. Talk about feeling like I was in the perfect, feeling place as the meeting ended.
I knew driving home it was too wet to ride, and definitely the dampness made the cool, windy weather, something I had no trouble by passing. To instead stay inside and add to my growing list of characters, before I went further with the story. I fed, hayed, watered, re-setting up everything for this evening’s feedings. Went inside full of the tale I had been putting together in my mind of KC, with a quick dash of dish washing, deciding on suppers menu and more coffee. I sat down to add my minds creation to the screen before me. As I was writing and thinking, the phone went off. One of my client’s was sending someone over to get her horse two days early. She was calling to make sure it was okay with me, telling me how the two men, Mike( the current in training horse handler) and Larry ( my recent dating lesson) were picking up some cows at the vet, then headed to my place. Not really sure who was going where since they left together. My mind’s first thought was…I know which one will show up. Probably the man who we parted company over his not being exactly on the same page as me in our techniques of horse handling at my place. He had the book learning down perfect. He had an idea how a woman should treat a man, his view of her giving in to authority. So comfortably, easily we parted ways. And then the dogs announced someone’s arrival, yep Larry. I met him cordially,had the feed left bagged up and in the truck. Grabbed a halter, and got out the little girl.
His first comment on how much taller she had gotten in the last two months. I agreed, stating how much difference an adjustment and lots of riding can do for a horse. Headed toward the truck and trailer, past the door he left open, swinging wildly in the breeze. I was so proud of all of my work with this young two year old mustang filly. She trusted me, she followed me, she knew all the commotion going on was okay, cause I was okay. Walking past the barking dogs, toward the trailer I knew she had come over in, but now the front end contained a brahma cow and her calf. I ignored their bawling, stepped up and walked in, while he positioned himself out kind of wide with the trailer door.
She walked up, pawed the floor twice, took a tentative step in, then out. Sniffed around, stepped in almost up to me, and out she stepped, he moved the door and himself away, to give her room, with a “come on sweetie, up you go” all the while looking uncomfortable in his position. I asked her again, up she stepped all the way, he slowly, carefully, so as not to spook her eased up the door toward her. Yet the moment she stepped backward, he twice as quickly swung the door wide and back. “Sheesh” I thought to myself, he keeps taking away any idea of pressure, and this little mare is smart. She could feel his uncertainty, so we did this a few more times, before I was definitely getting colder, and the expression on her face was “what a cool game”.
So I backed her up, handed him the lead, went and got some hay, a longer lead, a rope to hold the door in position, and the lunge whip. Came back repositioned him, changed ropes, fixed the door in place, gave him the whip and told him to tap her lightly when I asked. Next thing I know he is so lightly tapping, sweet talking, and babying her to the point she is loving it and getting more set by the moment. Especially when she discovered if she took any step or motion backwards…he moved. Five minutes of this and asking him to increase the pressure, which was like asking a fly to move over, I had enough. Tied her to the inside trailer door, as she was standing there right up next to the opening. Walked past her, took the whip from him, set myself, tapped her once and said “up” in went a front foot. As she started to bring it back down, I just kept up the tapping, she relaxed so did I. I asked “up” again, in went the other foot, she paused, I paused. She started to come back, I started up the tapping, then said “up” again, and in she walked. Closed the door with just enough space to slip back in, change halters, tie her right, gather up my stuff, thank him and send them on their way.
All the while congratulating myself on staying professional, taking over when I knew I and the filly were the ones in charge, got the task done, and re-confirmed my original impression about him and his way of handling horses. He has all the tools, but most of them seem to come from books he’s read, and he isn’t comfortable or confident in what he does do…and the horses know it. The old adage you can lead a horse to water but not make it drink. Equals you can’t teach someone if they don’t ask, they’re not ready to hear, and you’re wasting your breath. But that’s okay, he found a job working cattle, something I learned from listening to him he truly enjoys. So it always works out. I still own the ground I walk on and will share it with those who are the of the same line of thinking. I so love my life, I thought to myself as I went back to continue building the cast of players…in my training life tale.
About irfriske

Trainer, coach, teacher, parent, writer, exploring and sharing the connection through observation of what the Universe reflects back to us in our continuing education in living, loving, and enjoying life in interacting with horses, people, and animals.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in collected, Cool, Training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Learning to Thrive

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart. Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens." - Carl Jung

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

J. Ricci Energy

From where you are now, to where you want to be

Love. Life.

It's simple, yet powerful.

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Creator Writings

transcribed by Jennifer Farley, ThetaHealing Instructor/Practitioner

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

Seven Spheres

Aqua Terra Ignis et Aer

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Cat's Place About Horses and Heart

Observations Of My Horse Handling World

