Stepping Confidently Forward

I love getting out of the way of myself. I love the fact I have located my own biggest critic. I love snuggling with the blankets and furry stuffed animals on my bed. I love this morning cause I woke up feeling more empowered to be just me. Woke up, just lying there thinking how awesome today would be. Got up, made coffee, biscuits and pre-paved my day, how easy, fun and profitable it would be. Keeping an eye on the clock to see how well I managed my pre-planned day. Finally got my youngest rousted to then accomplish: 2 horses groomed, rode, and turned out before my first new client. She is here by token of a birthday wish (from long ago at 14) her parents have now given her at 34. Quiet, unassuming, listening, trying, till she discovered she had the right to learn, try, make mistakes and have fun. By the end of the lesson she could tell where not only would this benefit her with her new horse, she also stated how different she knows she will now be with her son of 3. Lesson number 2 tomorrow at 10, as she is thanking me, my favorite 5 year old gets out grinning for her lesson, her turn. She is giggling, having fun, and occasionally reminding me “that she can do it”. I back off and enjoy her fumbling, persistence, yet perfect recall of each step as she successfully finishes all the brushing, saddling details, completes the ground work. To then take charge of confidently walking, trotting, turning, and hopping the horse over obstacles. Giggling when I had to jog to keep up, having fun, increasing her confidence and very aware of her own tiredness, to ask to finish, do the end routines, get down, unsaddle and put the little mare away. As she puts up the halter, waves her dad off, and quickly goes back to the pen to tell Gidget thank you for being her ride. Her dad taking the time to tell me that in the next month both he and his wife will be taking lessons too, since they realize the fun they are all having, with the growing confidence of their little girl. As they wave goodbye, in drives my next lesson with two horses instead of one, if I have the time. As she unloads them I get the story behind each horse. We start with a few miscellaneous white hairs that have started growing behind the shoulder blades. A quick feeling search suggest saddle fitting problems. Take the young lady through saddle fitting, blanket discussions, all the things to look for and check. Then going through her equipment, change the saddles, blankets and horses around till we get comfortable combinations for each one. I then take the horses each through the various ground lessons, helping her to find a new way to feel, and move each horse. Explaining to her that all she has done has been correct, she just needed some more tools for her constantly expanding education tool box. Three hours later, she leaves feeling more at ease, reassured and confident that she is moving in a direction that benefits her and her horses. Ride my last two, hollering at my son I am headed for pizza’s and if he is interested get the gate. Wow, what a day, lots of interesting conversation and emails all showing me that my dream is becoming more and more my reality every day. Glad I am taking the time to continue to write and see my day in reflection…tired, but in a good way. I so love my life!
About irfriske

Trainer, coach, teacher, parent, writer, exploring and sharing the connection through observation of what the Universe reflects back to us in our continuing education in living, loving, and enjoying life in interacting with horses, people, and animals.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Learning, Listening, Reflections, Sharing, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Learning to Thrive

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart. Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens." - Carl Jung

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

J. Ricci Energy

From where you are now, to where you want to be

Love. Life.

It's simple, yet powerful.

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Creator Writings

transcribed by Jennifer Farley, ThetaHealing Instructor/Practitioner

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

Seven Spheres

Aqua Terra Ignis et Aer

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

