Okay…the House is Not On Fire?

Seems like a simple or simply ridiculous question in a normal conversation, except for I have discovered in this backtracking over my life of stepping stones that have gotten me to here. It could and should have been my primary question in dealing with the other people in my life. For two reasons: One, I would have caused myself to pause, before rushing headlong into this magical/maniacal habit of saving whom so ever came to me with their horrendous problem at any particular moment in time. Two, it might have gotten them to pause in their hysterical ranting’s of the event that was so currently, right there, in their face, making their life this huge dramatic scene, they simply could not figure out. Calmness, clarity, peace, breathing room, the ability and desire to find the simplest way for me to place another’s drama, into a quiet, thoughtful, aware space of them seeking and finding their own solution. This is very much my next challenge to be able to squarely announce to another; Breathe, is your house on fire? Okay, now how really big is this situation, can we calmly, sit, find several different ways to solve it, see it, deal with it…and still enjoy the moment. Today found me still in bed, breathing, enjoying the sounds of my house entirely to myself, with my youngest away for three days. Which meant wandering around in sleep t-shirt, sweats and crocs as I made my coffee and two biscuits, before I went out to feed and feel the niceness of everything in order. Part of the agreement for the three day visit for my son, was my place raked, swept, and organized. Get the animals done, head back in to pour my coffee and open the door to the fridge for some milk, to encounter the disaster from the boys last minute, wildly rushing to get it all done last night. The mess in the icebox, followed by the things jammed into the hall closet where I went to find a clean cup towel and all these dirty filthy clothes, actually stuffed in every alcove they could find. Cause me to fumble with the light switch, to reach around the hall door, which swung back to reveal…a boy’s bedroom with everything dragged out of his closet, and strewn about, in a last minute dig fest for his overnight bag. All thought safely hidden from my view, when they rushed me out to meet his brother before he got off work nlast night! (we were 3o minutes early) As I proceeded to clean every shelf, nook and cranny of the fridge, the phone rang from my favorite local partner in LOA and Abrahaming, to tell me of the same scenario some friend had called her about, that also just needed to get someone to ask Is the House on Fire? By the time we finished talking, sharing, allowing, and savoring the richness of our humor in such a simple thing, as to be allowed to take the time it takes…unless it is a true emergency. To release this rescue others button… Definitely on my list of things to move toward in honoring my right to breathe easier, not buy into what another is selling, unless, and only unless…it feels right to me, after I have the time to actually think it through. I love all of you who allow me to share with you, both by my telling of my tales, and by my reading both your stories and your comments. This challenge is going to be another puzzle piece/peace stepping stone on my so colorful path to being more of a truly connected me!

About irfriske

Trainer, coach, teacher, parent, writer, exploring and sharing the connection through observation of what the Universe reflects back to us in our continuing education in living, loving, and enjoying life in interacting with horses, people, and animals.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I recognise the room scenario with my teenage daughter. We can keep it tidy as long as she is in the house, however her departures are as speedy as if ‘the house was on fire.’ In the rush everything is pulled out onto the floor in the mad search for the vital item that must accompany her.

  2. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

Leave a Reply

Learning to Thrive

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart. Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens." - Carl Jung

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

J. Ricci Energy

From where you are now, to where you want to be

Love. Life.

It's simple, yet powerful.

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Creator Writings

transcribed by Jennifer Farley, ThetaHealing Instructor/Practitioner

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

Seven Spheres

Aqua Terra Ignis et Aer

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Cat's Place About Horses and Heart

Observations Of My Horse Handling World

