Opening a Can of Worms

Not the kind of worms you fish with, more an idea that no longer has staying power when one has entirely new information actually experienced firsthand. This was how a huge part of my day was spent after uncovering the reason for these last few years of being so extremely mad when I did allow myself to become angry, in retrospect I feel like a myth buster. First I have uncovered all the myths about what makes one look ugly (read previous post for more detail). Second I learned working is not what makes you tired, one gets tired when one keeps doing the exact same thing, with all the exact same ingredientss, and then expecting different results. Third sleep does not always rejuvenate you, especially if you use it to get away from the things you are tired of. It’s just a temporary reprieve, till you open your eyes and the mess is still there. Lastly there are a ton of things you might have been told, by well-meaning people, who learned it from other well-meaning people, that until you actually experience it and get the stated results may or may not be true. It’s the same as playing the game whisper, where all sit in a circle, the first person whispers a phrase to the next person and writes it down, who then whispers what they thought they heard to the next person, each whispered phrase is then continually whispered from person to person till it gets back to the first person who writes the final whisper down. The two phrases usually cause the entire circle to break up in laughter over how different the final result is. Bringing me to the results I had today. First a nap after my routes and feeding, gifted to me by the Universe providing a massive storm, lots of rain, and ground way to wet and slippery to ride on. So I chose to make use of this opening after tapping all morning on my route over the newly exposed old stories, and hidden keys I had uncovered, causing tiredness from old sluggish moving/changing angry/mad/ no it was jealousy energy. Set the alarm for an hour, to wake up two and a half hours later feeling like an entirely new person, with a whole other view of life. Straightened a few things up, took pictures of my finished window: Then the grass situation, past the tires on and on the right is what is still not cut: Went and drove my route, grocery shopped, picked up my son, to come home and ride my current client horse on the now drier ground (I love my sandy, light on the clay dirt) To play with another myth: Horses gaping their mouths because of hands on the bit or the type of bit being used ( too big, to tight, to cruel, to small etc. etc.) I have discovered in my observation of the many re-trained horses I have had to do in the last few years. Many of these horses have been taught to gape their mouth for their riders, because the riders feel the release when the horse opens its mouth, so they give the release of the reins as a reward. Not intentionally, most are inexperienced riders doing the best they can with the information they have learned, then trying to find the feel with no one watching the horse to see that the horse is opening its mouth, not just taking the pressure off the bit. Working with this much older mare (she is being re-started at 20) who at first, constantly opened and closed, threw her head side to side, moving her entire head the second there was any contact on the rein. It has been a slow process to wait for her to relax her each particular part of her head, then poll, then closing her mouth, till tonight, for several minutes at a time, she was just walking, quietly holding the bit, on a set of just barely picked up with contact reins. All of this piddling, playing, working and assisting horses and riders to have a new understanding with each other, suddenly makes me re-think tons of old critiques I have used and heard about an animal being in pain, because they ring their tail, gape their mouth, or pin their ears. Not saying sometimes the remark does fit. It’s just sometimes I watch fantastic rides, almost phenomenal ones till someone is there picking it apart for something that might not even be what is actually going on. These animals in my care have shown me that they listen and try to respond to us, so very much faster than we do them. Because they always live right now, in the moment. They have to; it is what they do instead of worrying or thinking about next week or last year. It’s easier, kind of like I feel the more I choose to be like the animals and some people I meet as I love and learn from!

About irfriske

Trainer, coach, teacher, parent, writer, exploring and sharing the connection through observation of what the Universe reflects back to us in our continuing education in living, loving, and enjoying life in interacting with horses, people, and animals.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love this: “These animals… listen and try to respond to us, so very much faster than we do them. Because they always live right now, in the moment. They have to; it is what they do instead of worrying or thinking about next week or last year. It’s easier, kind of like I feel the more I choose to be like the animals and some people I meet as I love and learn from!”

    OK, so: Not only are animals so intuitive, but they live in the moment. This frees them from dwelling on (or in) the past or worrying about the future. Wow, that’s pretty profound, Cat. Great thinking, really gives me food for thought. I’m thinking about following one’s heart/gut/intuition, and living in the moment, and worrying/fretting/dwelling/regretting less!

    It looks so lovely and green at your place. Your horses must be happy. That is a lot of lawn to mow though.

    ~ Lily

  2. It’s really a cool and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Learning to Thrive

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart. Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens." - Carl Jung

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

J. Ricci Energy

From where you are now, to where you want to be

Love. Life.

It's simple, yet powerful.

Eddie Two Hawks

Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Creator Writings

transcribed by Jennifer Farley, ThetaHealing Instructor/Practitioner

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

Seven Spheres

Aqua Terra Ignis et Aer

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

Cat's Place About Horses and Heart

Observations Of My Horse Handling World

